Paraphrase

I have recently started reading Breaking Free by Beth Moore. I have lots to say about this book because as usual it is in my life at just the right time! I love when God plants all kinds of things in your life to reinforce what he wants to teach you! Well, as I was reading today, she had me do this exercise that at first I wasn’t sure about. However, after doing this I had to share how helpful this was! I have heard and tried putting my name in scripture and applying it to me. That is a great thing ! But this was a twist I had never heard of. The scripture she was teaching about was:

Philippians 4:6-7  “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

So she challenged the reader to paraphrase the passage from a negative standpoint. This at first just seemed wrong! However, after starting the process….I can say …..TRY IT!

*It really makes you think about the scripture and what it means.

*It forces you to think about if you are living the scripture.

So, here is my negative version of Philippians 4:6-7

Worry about the details of anything and everything, by dwelling on it constantly and focusing on how it is not fair, with emotions like jealousy, anger, idolatry, or low self-esteem, present these thoughts to everyone except God. And the unsettling feelings will start to weaken your body and mind, making you question everything, leaving your heart unguarded and your mind to believe lies.

This is powerful to me. When you look at these words, I think……I don’t want any of that! I want peace! So, many times in a hard situation I start turning to this negative paraphrase instead of the comforting scripture. This is powerful to me because I can easily look at this and make the decision to choose to take my emotions to God and choose peace.

I am so thankful for the new things I learn from people! Thank you Beth Moore!

Leave a Reply

